Schedule

Day 0 - 11/07/2012 |Day 1 - 11/08/2012 Print
Last updated on 11/07/2012
8:00am
Registration opens



8:30am
Mayor's Welcome



8:40am
Jeff's welcome


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - Great Neck, New York

8:50am
Do small towns have a future?


Participants:
Becky McCray (@BeckyMcCray) - Hopeton, Oklahoma

9:00am
TBA



9:10am
Serendipitous Opportunities - Taking the Leap While Keeping a Sense of Self


Participants:
Naomi Shapiro (@superdumb) - Wichita, Kansas
Shellie Couch (@Taegus) - Hutchinson, Kansas

9:25am
TBA



9:40am
Coming Full Circle


Participants:
Mary Klaebel (@mklaebel) - Eunice, Louisiana

9:50am
If we don't talk religion or politics, what's left?


Participants:
Dennis Deery (@DDeery) - Menomonie, Wisconsin

10:00am
Living Life with Strings Attached


Participants:
Cari Kaufman (@carikaufman) - Lowell, Arkansas

10:10am
Nutburgers Unite


Participants:
Patsy Terrell (@patsyterrell) - Hutchinson, Kansas

10:20am
Community action thru Social Media


Participants:
James Lowe (@jiggyjaguar) - Hutchinson, Kansas

10:30am
Social Media Saves Lives


Participants:
Jennifer Campbell (@KSHumaneSociety) - Wichita, Kansas

10:45am
How one tweet turned into hope during the drought


Participants:
Carrie Mess (@DairyCarrie) - Johnson Creek, Wisconsin

10:55am
YouTube: The Final Frontier


Participants:
J.D. Patton (@jdpatton) - Wichita, Kansas

11:10am
Bringing the World to Your Small Town


Participants:
Deb Brown (@debworks) - Hampton, Iowa
Leslie McLellan (@LeslieMcLellan) - Lake Arrowhead, California

11:25am
It's not about the trees....


Participants:
Dave Quinn (@DaveQuinn247) - Bastrop, Texas

11:35am
Bringing Small Town Touch to Big Town Tech


Participants:
MB Linder (@mbl) - Dallas, Texas

11:45am
The Starving Artist


Participants:
Simon Salt (@incslinger) - Fort Worth, Texas

11:55am
Services Without Borders


Participants:
Frank Woodman Jr (@kstaxman) - Wichita, Kansas

12:05pm
Musicians and Marketing


Participants:
Melissa McCune (@MelissaAMcCune) - Wichita, Kansas

12:15pm
Social Media to Kill the Cultural Stigma


Participants:
Brian Allen (@kstatemediablog) - Washington, Kansas

12:25pm
It is what you make it


Participants:
Rebekah Starkey (@LeadAndKern) - Hutchinson, Kansas

12:35pm
LUNCH



2:00pm
The Beauty of Small Ag


Participants:
Carin Zinter (@CarinZinter) - Sunderland, Massachusetts
Lance Chastain (@CHFarm) - Andover, Kansas

2:15pm
I'm farming and I grow it


Participants:
Greg Peterson (@gregpeterson33) - Assaria, Kansas

2:30pm
Looking into the faceless 'Big Ag'


Participants:
Carrie Mess (@DairyCarrie) - Johnson Creek, Wisconsin
Debbie Lyons-Blythe (@DebbieLB) - 30 miles from WalMart, in the Flint Hills, Kansas
Janice Person (@JPlovesCOTTON) - St. Louis, Missouri
Jodi Oleen (@JodiOleen) - Kansas

2:50pm
Tiny Towns, Big Communications: Crisis vs. Chaos


Participants:
Martin Focazio (@mfocazio) - Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvannia
Michael Fienen (@fienen) - Pittsburg, Kansas

3:05pm
Cowboys and Content Hackers: The story that won the West


Participants:
Jason Kintzler (@jasonkintzler) - Wyoming

3:15pm
Nonconformity: The Soul of Change


Participants:
Jay Ehret (@JayEhret) - Waco, Texas

3:25pm
Engaging the Disengaged


Participants:
Angela Phebus (@AngelaPhebus)

3:35pm
Building Big in a Small City


Participants:
Anthony Rotolo (@rotolo) - Syracuse, New York
Isaac Budmen (@ibudmen) - Syracuse, New York

3:50pm
The Technologically Savvy Fourth Grader


Participants:
Dave Tallent (@MrTeacherman) - Elizabeth, Colorado

4:00pm
Incubating Tomorrow's Great Minds


Participants:
Nick Barron (@nbarron) - Washington, D.C.

4:10pm
Weather and News Reporting for Broadcast Media


Participants:
Shane Helton (@nwoweather) - Woodward, Oklahoma

4:20pm
Creating Multiculturalism in Small Town America


Participants:
Doug Mitchell (@nextgenradio) - Rockville, Maryland

4:30pm
None of this is hard, people


Participants:
Joseph Stierwalt (@ICTFitness) - Wichita, Kansas

4:45pm
Another Glorious Day in Suck City: How Facebook and blogging help my family cope with my father's terminal illness


Participants:
Lanna Lee Maheux (@lannalee) - Westbook, Maine

4:55pm
Changing minds one person at a time, OK, may more than that using Social Media


Participants:
Jon Powell (@kechutch) - Hutchinson, Kansas

5:05pm
Homeless with Means: The Joys of Location Independence


Participants:
Khayyam Wakil (@iamkhayyam) - Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

5:15pm
Bringing the State of NOW home: Local events and Mini 140s


5:30pm
Closing



6:00pm
Wine and Cheese Reception
Kansas Cosmosphere

Participants:
Everyone!



* schedule subject to change without notice






Get Email Updates
JOIN
#smalltown2012 Live feed
Follow @jeffpulver
K followers